Tim Bradstreet

The Punisher

This is the official Punisher thread here on my forum. Feel free to open up other Punisher related threads but this one's mine, all mine.

I've been doing the covers for "The Punisher" since 1999, eight years to be exact. It's been an incredible journey, from the freedom Joe Q and Jimmy Palmiotti gave me on the Marvel Knights editions, to the more directed Max series. All told I've created over 100 covers since that fateful evening at the San Diego Comicon (way back when), when Jimmy cornered me at the Hyatt bar and asked me if I'd be interested in taking on covers for the 12 issue series "Welcome Back Frank", with Garth Ennis.

Over that time I've gained a new audience of Marvel readers and Punisher fans, taken abuse for my photo real style, and helped to influence the film franchise, even getting the opportunity to do all the movie posters for the 2004 film version of "The Punisher". It's had it's ups and downs. There have been times when I felt I was just spinning my wheels (as my detractors would agree), and times when I felt I've done my strongest work drawing this character. The past few years I've been working with my old pal (from the Vertigo days) Axel Alonso.